Related topics

Woody Allen, Alfred Uhry Take Writers Guild Awards

March 19, 1990

BEVERLY HILLS, Calif. (AP) _ Woody Allen’s ″Crimes and Misdemeanors,″ and Alfred Uhry’s ″Driving Miss Daisy″ won the best screenplay awards from the Writers Guild of America, giving them a leg up in the Oscar derby.

Allen was honored for best original screenplay at the 42nd annual WGA awards presentation Sunday for his story of a murderous philanderer tormented by his conscience. The film stars Allen, Martin Landau and Anjelica Huston.

Uhry’s own adaptation of his Pulitzer Prize-winning play won for best screenplay based on material from another medium. The film, featuring Jessica Tandy as a Southern widow and Morgan Freeman as her chauffeur, is nominated for nine Oscars.

The two films now become favorites in their respective screenplay categories at the 62nd Annual Academy Awards next Monday.

In the television awards presented in dinner ceremonies in Beverly Hills and New York, Bill Wittliff won for adapted long form prize for CBS’ ″Lonesome Dove, Part 1.″ T.S. Cook, the writer of the TNT cable network movie ″Nightbreaker,″ took the award for original long form.

In series television, Karl Schaefer took the drama prize for the ″Rolling″ episode of CBS’ ″TV 101.″ Todd W. Langen was selected for best comedy writing for the ″Coda″ episode of ABC’s ″The Wonder Years.″

The winner of the Paul Selvin Award for the script that ″best embodies the spirit of constitutional liberties and civil rights″ is Alison Cross for the NBC made-for-TV movie ″Roe vs. Wade.″

Other television winners were:

Anthology Episode, Single Program: ″The Closed Set″ from PBS’ ″Tales from the Hollywood Hills,″ Ellen M. Violett.

Variety-Musical: HBO’s ″Not Necessarily the News,″ Matt Neuman, Larry Arnstein, Steve Barker, Joe Guppy, Nancy Harris, Scott McGibbon, Jon Ross, Lane Sarasohn, Steven Young, Merrill Markoe, Richard Rosen, Tom Kramer, Adam Barr and Peter Ocko.

Daytime Serials: ABC’s ″Ryan’s Hope,″ Claire Labine, Matthew Labine, Eleanor Mancusi, Bill Burritt, Louise Shaffer and Paul Balido.

Children’s Script: ABC’s ″Taking A Stand,″ Bruce G. Harmon.

Documentary, Other Than Current Events: PBS’ ″Secret Intelligence- Interventi on,″ Joseph Angier and Blaine Baggett.

Documentary, Current Events: PBS’ ″The Battle for Eastern Airlines,″ Alex Gibney.

Television Spot News: ″CBS Evening News in Beijing,″ Tom Phillips, Paul Fischer, John Mosedale, Jerry Cipriano and Hugh Heckman.

Television Graphic Art: CBS’ ″Dawn of A New Era,″ Stephen Vardy and Hal Aronow-Thiel.

On-Air Promotion: ″WNET-Thirteen Promotion,″ a public broadcasting station, Susan Meredith Lay.

Radio winners were:

Radio Spot News: ABC’s ″World News This Week,″ Stuart H. Chamberlain Jr.

Radio Documentary: CBS’ ″Remembering 1939,″ Elizabeth L. Dribben.

Update hourly