Related topics

U.S. Seeded in Women’s World Cup

November 18, 1998

ZURICH, Switzerland (AP) _ The United States, China, Germany and Norway will be the four seeds for next summer’s Women’s World Cup, FIFA said Tuesday.

The 16-team tournament will be played in eight U.S. cities from June 19-July 10. The draw will take place Feb. 14 at San Jose, Calif., during halftime of a game between the U.S. women’s team and a FIFA women’s All-Star team.

Fifteen of the berths in the tournament have been determined, with the field also including Australia, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Ghana, Italy, Japan, Nigeria, North Korea, Russia and Sweden.

Games will be played in Chicago; East Rutherford, N.J.; Foxboro, Mass.; Landover, Md.; Pasadena, Calif.; Portland, Ore.; San Jose, Calif.; and Stanford, Calif.

Only female referees will be used at the tournament, FIFA said.

Update hourly