Related topics


July 2, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Daytona, Florida.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 4-5:30 p.m., 6:30-8 p.m.); Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 5-6:30 p.m.); Saturday, race, 7:30 p.m. (TNT, 6:30-11 p.m.).

Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Jimmie Johnson won to become the first driver since Bobby Allison in 1982 to sweep the season races at the track. Tony Stewart was second.

Last week: Brad Keselowski dominated at Kentucky Speedway for his second victory of the season and 12th overall.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Johnson leads the series with three victories. Keselowski, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. ... Earnhardt won the season-opening Daytona 500. ... Michael Waltrip is driving the No. 66 Toyota. Three of Waltrip’s four Cup victories have come at the track.

Next race: Camping World RV Sales 301, July 13, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, New Hampshire.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Daytona, Florida.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3-4:30 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Daytona International Speedway (tri-oval, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 250 miles, 100 laps.

Last year: Matt Kenseth pulled away on the final restart.

Last week: Kevin Harvick won at Kentucky Speedway for his second victory of the season.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch won the season-opening race at the track. He has three victories in 12 starts this year to extend his series-record victory total to 66. ... Elliott Sadler leads the season standings, four points ahead of Chase Elliott and eight in front of Regan Smith. Sadler was fifth in the season-opening race and won at sister track Talladega.

Next race: Sta-Green 200, July 12, New Hampshire Motor Speedway, Loudon, New Hampshire.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Next race: American Ethanol 200, July 11, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.

Last week: Kyle Busch made it 5 for 5 this season in the series, holding off Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Darrell Wallace Jr. at Kentucky Speedway. Busch has six straight series victories dating to last season and 40 overall in 120 starts.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

Schedule: Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 7-8 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, noon-4 p.m.).

Track: Pocono Raceway (triangle, 2.5 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Scott Dixon won in IndyCar’s return to Pocono, leading Chip Ganassi Racing’s sweep of the first three spots.

Last week: Dale Coyne Racing’s Carlos Huertas won the rain-soaked doubleheader opener in Houston, leading Colombian podium sweep with Juan Pablo Montoya and Carlos Munoz. Simon Pagenaud won the second race for his second victory of the season, and Sam Schmidt teammate Mikhail Aleshin finished second.

Fast facts: Team Penske’s Will Power leads the season standings, 39 points ahead of teammate Helio Castroneves and 41 in front of Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay. ... The race is the third of six oval events. Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500, and owner-driver Ed Carpenter took the Texas Speedway event. ... The race last year was the first major open-wheel event at the track since 1989. ... The Indy Lights race is Saturday (NBC Sports Network, Sunday, 4-5 p.m.).

Next race: Iowa Corn Indy 300, July 12, Iowa Speedway, Newton, Iowa.

Online: http://www.indycar.com




Site: Silverstone, England.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 9-10:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (CNBC, 8-9:30 a.m.; NBC Sports Network, 2-3:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (CNBC, 7:30-10:30 a.m.; NBC Sports Network, 5-8 p.m.).

Track: Silverstone Circuit (road course, 3.667 miles).

Race distance: 190.6 miles, 52 laps.

Last year: Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg raced to the second of his two 2013 victories in the event marred by exploding tires.

Last race: Rosberg won the Austrian Grand Prix on June 22, edging teammate Lewis Hamilton in Mercedes’ sixth 1-2 finish in the first eight races of the year.

Fast facts: Rosberg leads the season standings, 29 points ahead of Hamilton. Rosberg won the season-opening race in Australia, finished second behind Hamilton in Malaysia, Bahrain, China and Spain, and then won in Monaco and Austria. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo, the Canadian Grand Prix winner, is third — 82 points behind Rosberg. ... Four-time defending series champion Sebastian Vettel is fifth in the standings, 105 points behind Rosberg. Vettel won 13 races last year for Red Bull.

Next race: German Grand Prix, July 20, Hockenheimring, Hockenheim, Germany.

Online: http://www.formula1.com




Site: Norwalk, Ohio.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 p.m.-1 a.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 9 p.m.-midnight).

Track: Summit Motorsports Park.

Last year: Johnny Gray won in Funny Car, Khalid alBalooshi in Top Fuel, Mike Edwards in Pro Stock, and Matt Smith in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last week: Matt Hagan won the Route 66 Nationals in Joliet, Illinois, for his first Funny Car victory of the year. Antron Brown won in Top Fuel, Vincent Nobile in Pro Stock, and Hector Arana Jr. in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner this year, leads the Funny Car standings — 246 points ahead of Tommy Johnson Jr. ... Doug Kalitta has a 102-point lead over Brown in Top Fuel. Brown leads the series with four victories, and Kalitta has one. ... Erica Enders-Stevens, a three-time winner this year, tops the Pro Stock standings. Andrew Hines, a two-time winner, leads the Pro Stock Motorcycle points race.

Next event: Mile-High NHRA Nationals, July 18-20, Bandimere Speedway, Morrison, Colorado.

Online: http://www.nhra.com



ARCA RACING SERIES: Herr’s Chase The Taste 200, Sunday (CBS Sports Network, 2-4 p.m.), Winchester Speedway, Winchester, Indiana. Online: http://www.arcaracing.com

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Boothill Showdown, Friday-Saturday, Dodge City Raceway Park, Dodge City, Kansas. Super DirtCar: Stars & Stripes 100, Thursday, Rolling Wheels Raceway, Elbridge, New York. Online: http://www.worldofoutlaws.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Friday, Lincoln Park Speedway, Putnamville, Indiana. Online: http://www.usacracing.com

Update hourly