Click to copy
Click to copy

Early voting starts Wednesday in Village of Barboursville

The Herald-DispatchMay 19, 2019

BARBOURSVILLE - The Village of Barboursville is preparing for its upcoming municipal election.

Early voting in the election begins Wednesday, May 22. Election Day for the village is June 4.

Incumbent Mayor Chris Tatum and recorder Paula Seay are running for their seats unopposed.

Tatum was elected mayor in 2015 after serving as city manager. The previous mayor, Paul Turman Sr., withdrew from that race.

Ten people are vying for the five open seats on council.

City Council incumbents seeking reelection are Ann Stackpole Reed, Donny Plybon and Patrick Wagoner. Others seeking election are Charlie Pennington, Jerry Johnson, Necia Thompson Freeman, Philip Kincaid, Larry Brumfield, Okey Bates and Jimmy Beckett.

The top five vote-getters will sit on City Council beginning July 1 for a four-year term.

A candidate forum will take place at 6:30 p.m. May 28 at Barboursville Community Center, where the community can ask the candidates questions.

Voting machines for the upcoming election were tested by the Cabell County Clerk’s Office on Friday at the Cabell County Courthouse in Huntington.

Early voting will take place at Barboursville City Hall from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. weekdays beginning Wednesday through June 1.

Polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. June 4 at the Barboursville Community Center.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.