Illinois State Reps. Jeff Keicher, Tom Demmer among 118 members sworn in

January 10, 2019

SYCAMORE – The new Illinois state representative elected to the state’s 70th District was sworn into office Wednesday for his first full term.

Illinois State Rep. Jeff Keicher, R-Sycamore, was among the 118 members of the Illinois House of Representatives for the 101st General Assembly inauguration Wednesday at the University of Illinois at Springfield campus.

Keicher, 45, has represented the district, which includes parts of DeKalb, Kane and Boone counties, since July. Keicher said in a news release he wants to create more jobs, strengthen schools, support Illinois’ agriculture industry and enact meaningful and lasting property tax relief. He said in the release lawmakers need to do a better job at keeping Illinois’s talented students in the state after graduating high school.

“Whether they choose to pursue a college education, attend a trade school or start their career in today’s job market, we have to make Illinois a place of opportunity for everyone,” Keicher said in the release.

Tom Demmer, a Dixon Republican whose 90th District includes part of DeKalb and western DeKalb County, was sworn in for a fourth term in office. Within the House Republican Caucus, Demmer serves on the nine-member leadership team as deputy Republican leader, making him the second-highest-ranking Republican in the House, where Democrats hold a 74-44 majority.

“As we enter this new General Assembly, I look forward to many opportunities for bipartisanship that can lead Illinois down a better path toward economic prosperity,” said Demmer. “We face many challenges, but our best work takes place when we set partisanship aside and work collaboratively.”

Keicher won the race to be the Illinois 70th District representative against Democratic candidate Paul Stoddard of DeKalb on Nov. 6, a few months after he was appointed to the position in July. He replaced former state Rep. Bob Pritchard, the Republican from Hinckley who left his seat earlier that month to join the Northern Illinois University Board of Trustees.

Keicher’s committee assignments for the new legislative session will be announced in the coming weeks.

Michael J. Madigan, D-Chicago, was re-elected Speaker of the House for another two-year term. Representative Jim Durkin, R-Western Springs, was re-elected house minority leader.

Update hourly