Related topics

Pakistan wins toss, elects to bat against NZ

December 12, 2014

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates (AP) — Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bat against New Zealand in the second one-day international on Friday.

Pakistan made one change from the team which won the first ODI on Monday by three wickets, and leads the five-match series 1-0.

Fast bowler Umar Gul, who made a comeback after more than eight months off due toa knee injury, was replaced by left-arm fast bowler Sohail Tanvir.

Corey Anderson returned in the New Zealand XI in place of James Neesham in one of three changes. Fast bowlers Matt Henry and Mitchell McClenaghan replaced offspinner Nathan McCullum and seamer Kyle Mills.

Misbah said batting second under lights could be difficult at Sharjah Cricket Stadium, where Pakistan has won all of its previous 10 ODIs against New Zealand. But the match is also on the same pitch where New Zealand won the third test two weeks ago.



Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (captain), Anton Devcich, Dean Brownlie, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Daniel Vettori, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan.

Update hourly