Spearfish Middle School Student Council receives local, state Good Samaritan awards

November 14, 2018

SPEARFISH — The Spearfish Middle School Student Council was recognized with Good Samaritan awards on the local and state level.

“They are doing great deeds,” American Legion Post 164 Americanism Officer/Assistant Adjutant Fred Nelson said Friday during the presentation of the awards. He explained that for about year, before each of the post’s monthly meetings, the student council members cook and serve dinner to the veterans before joining them for conversation and fellowship.

“So we get to learn about these young people, and we’ve got some incredible young people,” Nelson said. He described that the post submitted the council for the local Good Samaritan Award, which the post awarded to the student council for 2018, and the post also nominated the student council for the state Good Samaritan Award. American Legion Posts across the state submit nominations of people and groups who are going above and beyond in their service to the group, and the Spearfish Middle School Student Council was chosen from the nominations to receive the state award.

“We really enjoy their company every month. Thank you and congratulations to all of you,” Nelson said as Spearfish American Legion Post 164 Commander Doug Henwood presented the students with the local and state award plaques.

“We are so honored and proud to received this award,” Paula Farley, middle school teacher and adviser to the Spearfish Middle School Student Council, along with Carmen Fraiser, said. “The times we spend with our veterans are some of the favorite moments in our year. Mrs. Frasier and I are blessed with some of the most kind-hearted, hard working, and dedicated students at SMS.”

Student council members include the following students, by grades: Sixth-grade: Ryan Heinert, Danika Brown, Madison Cramer, Zoey Little Bear, Shelby Hansen, Lola Rumi, Sydney Brost, Reyna Binegar, Natalie Randall, Gracey Schave, Hailey Donarski, Paige Hartman, EllaMia Marty, Ava Henderson, Claira Abner, and Jayden Wenzel;

Seventh-grade: Sophey Spraitz, Gracie Larsen, Cassidy Ewing, A.J. Kinney, Sammy Zoller, and Aidan Hirch; and

Eighth-grade: Victoria Fischer, Carter Lyon, Addie Lebsack, Ellee Barth, Marquelle Strawn, LilyanaSimek, Madison Reece, Elizabeth Van Osdal, and Breana Dietrich.

In addition, Jaydah Wickenhagen, a former student council member who is now in high school, continues to return to the monthly meals with the American Legion.

To read all of today’s stories, Click here or call 642-2761 to subscribe to our e-edition or home delivery.

Update hourly