Related topics

BC to Play BU in Beanpot Championship

February 7, 2006

BOSTON (AP) _ Jason Lawrence had a goal and two assists, and Boston University beat Harvard 5-3 on Monday night in the opening round of the 54th annual Beanpot Tournament.

The Terriers reached the championship game for the 22nd time in 23 years and will play archrival Boston College for the title next Monday night. In the first game, Chris Collins scored twice to lead the No. 5 Eagles past Northeastern 5-2.

John Curry made 38 saves for the sixth-ranked Terriers, who have won 26 Beanpot titles _ by far the most of any school _ and nine of the last 11. The tournament features Boston’s four NCAA Division I hockey programs vying for a coveted trophy and citywide bragging rights.

Bryan Ewing, Chris Higgins, Brad Zancanaro and David Van der Gulik each had a goal for BU (16-8-2), which scored twice in the first 10 minutes and never trailed en route to its ninth straight victory overall.

Paul Dufault, Alex Meintel and Dave Watters scored for Harvard, which lost in the opening round for the eighth consecutive time.

No. 17 Harvard (12-9-2) outshot Boston University 25-6 in the third period, and Dave Waters’ fifth goal of the season pulled the Crimson to 4-3 in the closing moments. But Curry made 23 saves in the third to help BU hang on.

Ewing gave BU a 1-0 lead 1:23 into the game when he fired a slap shot past goalie John Daigneau.

Chris Higgins then grabbed a loose puck just inside center ice, skated around a Harvard defender and scored on a breakaway 9:08 into the period to extend the lead to 2-0.

Harvard pulled to 2-1 when Dufault took Jon Pelle’s pass off the boards and beat Curry at 12:06.

Zancanaro and Lawrence each scored a power-play goal in the second to extend the Terriers’ lead to 4-1.

Van der Gulik added an empty-net goal in the closing seconds.

In the opener, Peter Harrold had a goal and two assists to help Boston College reach the title game for the third time in four years. Cory Schneider made 28 saves for the Eagles (18-6-2), who last won the Beanpot in 2004.

Brian Esner and Dennis McCauley scored for Northeastern, which lost to BU in last year’s championship game. The Huskies (1-19-6) have the worst record in Division I hockey and haven’t won the Beanpot since 1988.

Boston College outshot Northeastern 14-8 in the first period to take a quick 3-0 lead and put the game out of reach early.

The Eagles scored 8:36 into the period when Dan Bertram passed from behind the net to Brock Bradford, who sent the puck past Northeastern goalie Doug Jewer. Harrold put BC up 2-0 just 3 minutes later.

Collins extended the lead to 3-0 late in the first when his slap shot from the side ricocheted in off Jewer’s pads. Brett Motherwell and Harrold assisted on the goal, Collins’ 22nd.

Adam Geragosian replaced Jewer late in the first period and made 20 saves for the Huskies, who pulled to 3-1 when Esner rebounded Ryan Ginand’s shot and beat Schneider 13:45 into the second period.

Harrold and Motherwell then assisted on Stephen Gionta’s power-play goal early in the third period to extend BC’s lead to 4-1.

After McCauley made it 4-2, Collins scored a short-handed goal on a breakaway midway through the third.

Update hourly