OLATHE, Kan. (AP) — Kansas superintendents are working together to fight teen suicide.

Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill school districts in Johnson County have announced plans to work together on the issue, The Kansas City Star reported . The districts plan to meet monthly and will consult mental health providers, parents, religious leaders and local businesses.

Tim DeWeese, the executive director of Johnson County Mental Health, said it's an unprecedented collaboration for the area, as school leaders and community groups have typically worked separately on mental health and suicide prevention programs.

"It's not just a school issue," DeWeese said. "It's not just a mental health issue. It's a community issue, and if we are going to impact it we are going to need to take a community response."

The teen suicide rate in the county has nearly doubled in the first six months of 2018, according to Johnson County Mental Health. Eight teens died by suicide last year through November 2017, two more than in 2016.

School leaders hope to share ways to prevent suicides and find a way to train students and staff to better identify students who are struggling, said De Soto Superintendent Frank Harwood.

"What we've talked about is how can we leverage student involvement in this?" Harwood said. "How can we help them not to continue to raise that pressure for themselves? And working more to survey students to get an idea of what is causing those issues and what can we do to address them."

Districts plan to have public service announcements about suicide prevention that include resources to help. Officials will also plan events for National Suicide Prevention Week in September.