School boards to hold elections

December 18, 2018

School districts in Jefferson and Dodge counties will have open seats on their school boards this upcoming spring election on April 2, 2019.

The election will only be for the seats, not the board position titles.

Three seats are open on the Watertown Unified School District Board of Education. Incumbents Steve Kauffeld, Ron Buchanan and Paul VanDenLangenberg have filed papers to run for re-election. As of late last week, no one else has filed candidacy papers.

Three seats are open on the Dodgeland School District Board of Education, according to its website. Clerk David Beal, Serene Seufzer and Andrew Oemig’s terms expire this upcoming spring.

Incumbents Robert Dimperio, vice president, and Dr. Dawn Delaney, clerk, of the Lake Mills Area School District are also running for re-election and no new candidates have filed a declaration.

The rural and at-large seats on the Hustisford School District’s school board will be open for election. Incumbents John Bohonek, the school board president, and Jay Behnke are running for re-election and as of late last week no one else has filed papers.

Carol O’Neil and Mark Siewert are up for re-election on the school board of the Johnson Creek School District but they have not as of late last week filed a declaration.

The School District of Jefferson has two open seats for areas three and four on its school board. Tanya Ball, the school board clerk, has filed the candidacy paperwork but David Hollenberger, the school board president, has not as of late last week filed a declaration.

According to the School District of Jefferson’s website, Area 3 inlcudes the townships of Concord and Sullivan and the village of Sullivan. Area 4 is at-large, meaning any portion of the district.

Incumbents from the Jefferson and Johnson Creek school districts have until Friday to file a notification of non-candidacy.

Two seats will be up for election in the spring on the Waterloo School District’s Board of Education.

Area 3′s Bobbi Forman, president, and Area 4′s Debra Stein, clerk, have terms expiring in spring 2019. As of Friday no one had officially filed for candidacy, the school district reported, and Forman and Stein had not yet filed papers seeking re-election.

Incumbents in the Waterloo School District have until Dec. 26 to file papers for re-election.

According to the school district’s website, Area 3 includes the city of Waterloo, Jefferson County, and sections 31, 32 and the part of section 33 west of the Maunesha River, town of Portland, Dodge County, including the village of Portland. Area 4 includes the towns of Waterloo and Milford.

Potential candidates have until Wednesday, Jan. 2, 2019, at 5 p.m. to submit candidacy papers to their school district.

If a primary election is needed, it will be held Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019. The general election will be held Tuesday, April 2, 2019.

Update hourly