Resort town tax increase option clears Montana Senate, House

April 16, 2019

HELENA, Mont. (AP) — The Montana Legislature has approved a bill that would give residents of resort communities the opportunity to increase taxes.

KTVM-TV reports that under the bill that passed both the state House and Senate, resort communities could increase taxes from the current 3% rate to 4%.

Supporters of the bill said the additional tax would help with needed infrastructure repairs.

The resort communities that levy the tax are Red Lodge, Virginia City, West Yellowstone, Whitefish, Big Sky, Cooke City, Craig, Gardiner, St. Regis and Wolf Creek.

The population for the towns and areas are less than 5,5000, qualifying them as resort towns/areas.

The bill now goes to Gov. Steve Bullock.


Information from: KTVM-TV, http://www.ktvm.com