AP NEWS

Girl Scout booths set up across the area

February 27, 2019
Meyers Transfer and Storage System employees unload pallets of Girl Scout cookies from their trucks under Interstate 64 in Charleston for distribution to area troops.

HUNTINGTON — It’s the time of year where cookies are taking over, and it is all for a good cause.

Girl Scout troops across the region are setting up booths selling their famous Thin Mints, Samoas, Tagalongs, Do-sidos, Trefoils, or Savannah Smiles. These cookies represent the entrepreneurial spirit which began in 1917, five years after the first girl scout troop began in Savannah, Georgia.

The earnings from Girl Scout cookies all stay within the community, according to a news release sent out by the Girl Scout organization.

These funds help girls achieve their goals through projects like conducting community services, providing trips, along with possibly discovering STEM (Science, technology, engineering and math) missions, or even enjoying an adventure at summer camp.

Booths will be set up across the region throughout the dates listed below:

Tuesday, Feb. 26

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Wednesday, Feb. 27

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Friday, March 1

• Big Sandy Superstore Arena, One Civic Center Plaza in Huntington

• RIVER VALLEY ONLY — Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Saturday, March 2

• Big Sandy Superstore Arena, One Civic Center Plaza in Huntington

• H&R Block, 4341 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Huntington Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Kroger, 2627 5th Ave. in Huntington

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

• Barboursville Walmart, 25 Nichols Drive in Barboursville

• Lowes, 700 W. Mall Road in Barboursville

• Sprint, 100 Huntington Mall in Barboursville

• Piggly Wiggly, 18 Perry Morris Square in Milton

Monday, March 4

• Lowes, 700 W. Mall Road in Barboursville

Sunday, March 3

• Big Sandy Superstore Arena, One Civic Center Plaza in Huntington

• Kroger, 2627 5th Ave. in Huntington

Tuesday, March 5

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Friday, March 8

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Saturday, March 9

• Big Sandy — Home and Garden Show, 1 Center Plaza in Huntington

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Kenny Queen Hardware, W.Va. 152 in Lavalette

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

• AC Moore, 2050 Thundering Herd Drive in Barboursville

• Pure Serenity Salon & Spa, 500 E. Main St. in Milton

Sunday, March 10

• Big Sandy Superstore Arena, One Civic Center Plaza in Huntington

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Lowes, 700 Mall Road in Barboursville

Friday, March 15

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

Saturday, March 16

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point, Ohio

• Lowe’s, 700 W. Mall Road in Barboursville

• Kroger, 6360 U.S. 60 in Barboursville

• Starbucks, 900 Lauren Christian Drive in Barboursville

• Walmart, 25 Nichols Dr in Barboursville

• Advance Auto Parts, 233 E. Main St. in Milton

Sunday, March 17

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Tower Food Fair, 6350 U.S. 60 in Barboursville

Saturday, March 23

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Classic Jewelry & Loan, 6339 U.S. 60 East in Barboursville

• Kroger, 6360 U.S. 60 in Barboursville

• Lowes, 700 W. Mall Road in Barboursville

• Wayne Walmart, 100 McGinnis in Wayne

• Advance Auto, 223 E. Main St. in Milton

• Shaffer’s Drive In, 1226 W. Main St. in Milton

Sunday, March 24

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington

• Walmart/South Point Supercenter in South Point

• Walmart, 25 Nichols Drive in Barboursville

Monday, March 25

• Advance Auto, 233 E. S. Main St. in Milton

Friday, March 29

• Kroger, 6360 U.S. 60 in Barboursville

Saturday, March 30

• Piggly Wiggly, 18 Perry Morris Square in Milton

Saturday, April 6

• Lowes, 700 W. Mall Road in Barboursville

• Walmart, 25 Nichols Drive in Barboursville

Sunday, April 7

• Lowes, 700 Mall Road in Barboursville

Saturday, April 13

• Walmart, 3333 U.S. 60 in Huntington