2nd name added to mayor race

January 16, 2019

Another candidate has officially entered the race for Fort Wayne mayor.

Republican businessman Tim Smith filed campaign paperwork with the Allen County Election Board on Tuesday. He is the second candidate to do so and will face City Councilman John Crawford in the May 7 Republican primary. The winner of that will go on to face Mayor Tom Henry, who has said he plans to seek a fourth term. 

“Throughout this campaign, I look forward to hearing from Fort Wayne voters about what more they expect from the mayor’s office,” Smith said in a statement. “For nearly 25 years I have helped lead one of Fort Wayne’s most successful companies, MedPro Group, by expecting more out of myself and our team. Now I want to do the same for the people of Fort Wayne by applying business principles to make Fort Wayne the safest, smartest and strongest city in the Midwest.”

Smith said he wants to focus on customer service, spend less than the city takes in and negotiate tough but fair deals. 

“In a few short years, we no longer will be looking to other cities for best practices; they will be looking to us to understand how we became the safest, strongest and smartest city in the Midwest,” Smith said. 

Priority No. 1, Smith said Tuesday, is public safety. Fort Wayne, he said, isn’t close to being the safest city in the Midwest. That means stronger community policing methods, Smith said. 

“Relationships yield trust, trust yields witnesses to crimes,” Smith said. “Not only is it tragic that we had over 40 murders last year, most of the murders in recent years are unsolved. And the reason they’re unsolved is because it’s difficult to get witnesses.

“If you rebuild trust, you get witnesses.”

Smith also said the Fort Wayne Police Department is too “top-heavy.”

“We have full uniformed officers that we can move from behind desks to the streets,” Smith said. “More traffic officers, more detectives.”

Other candidates who filed Tuesday:

• Raymond Pulver Jr., Republican: Leo-Cedarville Town Council

• Dennis Schebig, Republican: New Haven City Council District 2 

• Timothy Cummins, Republican: Woodburn city clerk-treasurer

• Michael Voirol, Republican: Woodburn City Council at large. 


Update hourly