Related topics

FCC Names More Tentative License Winners

May 29, 1985

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The Federal Communications Commission announced the tentative winners of a lottery to determine which applicant should get permission to build low-power television stations across the country.

Unless challenged successfully by losing applicants, the companies announced Tuesday will be able to begin building television stations.

Low-power stations are designed to bring local television service to small towns or specific neighborhoods in large cities.

The winners were selected from among hundreds of qualified applicants. The FCC made its selection by lottery to avoid the time and labor necessary to compare the applicants to see which was most qualified.

Minority applicants and applicants with no other media properties were given extra chances in the lottery.

Here are the winners:

Mountain TV Network, Kingman, Ariz., Channel 26

Capitol Telecasters, Mesa, Ariz., Channel 63

James Connell, Cortez, Colo., Channel 30

Mountain TV Network, Poplar, Colo., Channel 30

Trinity Broadcasting, Key West, Fla., Channel 28

Southwest Radio Enterprises, Vero Beach, Fla., Channel 50

Meidi Terrill, Honolulu, Hawaii, Channel 5

Oralia Lozoya, Boise, Idaho, Channel 10

American Television Network, Evansville, Ind., Channel 4

Worldwide Enterprises, Fort Wayne, Ind., Channel 42

Mountain TV Network, Denison, Iowa, Channel 45.

Brooks Broadcasting, Manhattan, Kan., Channel 7

Black Media, Hopkinsville, Ky., Channel 60

Community Television, New Orleans, La., Channel 63

Jo Ann’s Balloon Boutique, Grand Rapids, Mich., Channel 11

Mountain TV Network, Lewistown, Mont., Channel 24

Mountain TV Network, Lewistown, Mont., Channel 40

Mountain TV Network, Malta, Mont., Channel 43

Arapahoe County TV Club, Pendroy, Mont, Channel 24

Mountain TV Network, Poplar, Mont., Channel 22

Mountain TV Network, Poplar, Mont., Channel 32

Arapahoe County TV Club, Virginia City, Mont., Channel 44

Mountain TV Network, Battleview, N.D., Channel 61

Mountain TV Network, Battleview, N.D., Channel 67

Meyer Broadcasting, Crosby, N.D, Channel 65

Owen Broadcasting, Elgin, N.D., Channel 20

Nightwood, Elgin, N.D., Channel 31

KOAT Television, Hobbs, N.M., Channel 12

Guadalupe Carmona Cantu, Farmington, N.M., Channel 47

International Cultural Network, Hauppauge, N.Y., Channel 38

Second Local Power Television, Olean, N.Y., Channel 51

Lidia Rodriguez, Manteo, N.C., Channel 4

Rosa Moreno Maroquin, Portsmouth, Ohio, Channel 21

Oralia Lozoya, Altus, Okla., Channel 11

Minerva Rodriquez Frias, Bend, Ore., Channel 11

BTV, Williamsport, Pa., Channel 9

M&M Communications, Nashville, Tenn., Channel 61

Tel Radio Communications, Brownwood, Texas, Channel 20

Minerva Rodriguez Frias, Eagle Pass, Texas, Channel 7

Evarista Romero, Falfurrias, Texas, Channel 7

Owen Broadcasting, Uvalde, Texas, Channel 13

LPTV Services, Park City, Utah, Channel 45

Update hourly