Kansas to see turnover in statewide offices, House, ed board

June 3, 2018

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Kansas will have at least two new statewide elected officials, three new State Board of Education members and 13 Kansas House members next year.

Republican incumbents for those offices did not file to run for them again this year ahead of Friday’s deadline.

Secretary of State Kris Kobach and Insurance Commissioner Ken Selzer are running for governor.

Board of Education members John Bacon of Olathe, Sally Cauble of Liberal and Ken Willard of Hutchinson aren’t seeking re-election.

In the House, Rep. Kevin Jones of Wellsville is running for Congress. Reps. Keith Esau and Scott Schwab of Olathe are running for secretary of state.

Ten other House members are not seeking re-election. They include Education Committee Chairman Clay Aurand of Belleville and Water and Environment Committee Chairman Tom Sloan of Lawrence.

Update hourly