Oregon voters ousted one incumbent in City Council race

April 4, 2019

Overall, voters didn’t appear to be significantly disgruntled with the status quo Tuesday, as they cast their ballots for newcomers and incumbents alike.

Oregon voters ousted one incumbent, and voted in two each of newcomers and incumbents in a City Council race separated by only 61 votes.

Voters favored the newcomers somewhat, however, giving Timothy Krug 260 votes and Melanie Cozzi 258.

Incumbents Kurt Wilson and Terry Schuster were re-elected with 209 and 231 votes respectively. 

Longtime commissioner Tom Izer was defeated, earning just 199 votes in his bid for another 4-year term.

Mayor Ken Williams garnered 244 votes in his unchallenged bid for election to a second term.

Three incumbents were re-elected to the Oregon Park District Board.

Mark Tremble was the top vote-getter with 451, Stephen Pennock received 374, and Scott Stephens received 364. Challenger Wes Sosa garnered 303 votes.

Polo alderman Randy Schoon was re-elected to his seat in Ward 3 with 90 votes, defeating former alderman Cheryl Galor, who received 25 votes.

D.J. Sanders ran unopposed in Ward 1 and gained 56 votes. No candidates filed for the open seat in Ward 2.

Mount Morris Village Board incumbents Phil Labash and Jeffrey Pennington were re-elected with 269 and 262 votes, respectively, and newcomer Chris Kolling received 255. All three ran unopposed.

Countywide, turnout was 16.7 percent .