All Times EST



Site: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:10 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (NBC Sports Network, 7:30-10:30 a.m., 2-5 p.m.).

Track: Yas Marina Circuit (road course, 3.45 miles).

Race distance: 189.8 miles, 55 laps.

Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel raced to his seventh straight victory and 11th of the year. He also won the final two races to tie Michael Schumacher's season victory record with 13 and Alberto Ascari's mark for consecutive wins of nine.

Last race: Mercedes' Nico Rosberg won the Brazilian Grand Prix on Nov. 9 to cut teammate Lewis Hamilton's points lead to 17. Hamilton was second for Mercedes' record 11th 1-2 finish.

Fast facts: In a format change this year, points are doubled in the season finale. The winner will receive 50 points, second place is worth 36, third 30, fourth 24, fifth 20, sixth 16, seventh 12, eighth 8, ninth 4 and 10th 2. If Rosberg wins the race, Hamilton must finish second to take the title. If Rosberg is second, Hamilton must finish fifth or higher. ... Mercedes has matched the team season victory record of 15. Hamilton has 10 victories, and Rosberg five. ... Hamilton won the 2008 title for McLaren. ... Vettel is making his final start for Red Bull. He's winless this year after winning the last four season titles.