CAPE TOWN, South Africa (AP) _ South Africa won the toss and decided to bat first in the first cricket test against Sri Lanka at Newlands on Thursday.

South Africa capped fast bowler Makhaya Ntini for his first test, making him the republic's first black test player.

Both teams named three fast bowlers apiece to make use of seamer-friendly pitch, while naming just one spinner each, Sri Lanka, off spinner Muttiah Muralidharan and South Africa, left-arm wrist spinner Paul Adams.

South Africa made two changes to the side that won the third and final test against Pakistan in Port Elizabeth, replacing batsman Andrew Hudson with Daryll Cullinan and retired fast bowler Fanie de Villiers with Ntini.

This is Sri Lanka's first test on South African soil. South Africa won a three-test series 1-0 against the visitors in Sri Lanka in 1993/94.

South Africa: Hansie Cronje (captain), Gary Kirsten, Adam Bacher, Jacques Kallis, Daryll Cullinan, Hylton Ackerman, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Allan Donald, Paul Adams, Makhaya Ntini. Twelfth man: Lance Klusener.

Sri Lanka: Arjuna Ranatunga (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Marvan Atapattu, Roshan Mahanama, Aravinda de Silva, Hashan Tillakaratne, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralidharan, Pramodaya Wickramasinghe, Ravindra Pushpakumara. Twelfth man: Upul Chandana.

Umpires: Steve Dunne (New Zealand) and Dave Orchard (South Africa). TV umpire: Rudi Koertzen.

Match referee: Howie Gardiner (Zimbabwe).