CEPAGATTI, Italy (AP) — Belgian rider Greg Van Avermaet won the penultimate stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico on Monday to move into the overall race lead.

In the mostly flat 210-kilometer stage, Zdenek Stybar surrendered the lead after finishing in fourth place in Cepagatti.

On the final bend, Van Avermaet of BMC Racing burst past Tinkoff's Peter Sagan to take victory in 4 hours, 34 minutes, 14 seconds. Sagan was awarded the same time, while Team Sky's Michal Kwiatkowski was two seconds back in third.

Van Avermaet said: "I tried to save as much energy as possible. At the end I was up there for sprinting against Peter Sagan. I'm in good form."

Van Avermaet is now seven seconds ahead of Stybar going into the 10.1-kilometer time trial on Tuesday.