WASHINGTON (AP) _ Edward L. Seaton, editor of The Manhattan (Kan.) Mercury, is embarking on a one-year term as president of the American Society of Newspaper Editors.

At the association's annual convention Friday, Seaton moved up from vice president to replace Sandra Rowe of The Oregonian of Portland.

N. Christian Anderson III of The Gazette of Colorado Springs, Col., was elected vice president, Richard A. Oppel of the Austin (Texas) American-Statesman was elected secretary and Tim J. McGuire of the Star Tribune of Minneapolis was elected treasurer.