The AP World Cup Digest at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). The supervisor of the World Cup desk in Rio de Janeiro is Simon Haydon. The desk can be reached at 0055 21 348 264 84.

TOP STORIES:

WCUP-BRAZIL-NEYMAR

FORTALEZA, Brazil — Neymar returned to Brazil's training camp in an ambulance after being ruled out of the World Cup because of a broken vertebra that will sideline him for four weeks. Neymar flew back to Rio de Janeiro with the rest of his Brazil teammates following their 2-1 quarterfinal victory over Colombia in Fortaleza on Friday and rode the rest of the way to the team's camp in the mountain city of Teresopolis by ambulance. By Tales Azzoni. By Tales Azzoni. SENT: 370 words, photos.

WCUP--ARGENTINA-BELGIUM

BRASILIA, Brazil — With Brazil's Neymar injured and James Rodriquez eliminated with Colombia, the spotlight turns to Lionel Messi, the top scorer remaining in the tournament, as he leads Argentina against Belgium in the World Cup quarterfinals. By Karl Ritter. UPCOMING: 500 words, photos by 3 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT.

WCUP-NETHERLANDS-COSTA RICA

SALVADOR, Brazil — The Netherlands aims to end Costa Rica's World Cup fairy tale when the 2010 losing finalist takes on the Brazil tournament's surprise package in the quarterfinals. By Mike Corder. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT. AP photos.

NEW/DEVELOPMENT

WCUP-NEYMAR-RONALDO

RIO DE JANEIRO — Brazil great Ronaldo says the challenge that resulted in a fractured vertabra for Neymar and ruled him out of the rest of the World Cup was violent and intentional. UPCOMING.

WCUP-BRAZIL-FANS

RIO DE JANEIRO — Brazil exploded into collective celebration Friday night after its soccer team won a hard-fought World Cup quarterfinal match against Colombia, 2-1 — then mourned that an injury to star striker Neymar means he's out of the tournament. As the final whistle blew, thousands of fans wearing Brazil's canary-colored jersey and watching the match on Copacabana beach in front of a giant TV screen jumped and screamed with joy. By Jenny Barchfield and Adriana Gomez Licon. SENT: 488 words, photos.

ALSO:

RIO DE JANEIRO — SOC--WCUP-MISSING NEYMAR. UPCOMING.

WCUP-BRAZIL-LUIZ'S GOAL

FORTALEZA, Brazil — David Luiz can only explain the technique behind his game-clinching free kick in the World Cup quarterfinal win over Colombia as a product of genetics. Lining up from 35 meters (yards) out, the 27-year-old Brazilian side-footed the ball with his right boot, smashing it over a wall of four Colombians and beyond the reach of goalkeeper David Ospina. By Derek Gatopoulos.

WCUP-MLS FUTURE

UNDATED — Even before millions of people packed into outdoor fan parties, ran out to bars for long lunches and snuck peaks of games at their offices during the Americans' World Cup run, Major League Soccer began thinking about how to convert some of those fans into supporters for its own teams. UPCOMING: 900 words, photos. By Ronald Blum and Janie McCauley.

ALSO:

— UNDATED — WCUP-ON THIS DAY. SENT.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-WHAT TO WATCH. UPCOMING: 500 words, by 7 p.m. EDT/2300 GMT.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-BRAZIL BEAT. UPCOMING.

__ RIO DE JANEIRO __ WCUP-CAPSULES. UPCOMING: 600 words, by 8 p.m. EDT/0000 GMT.