SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (AP) _ A delay during the voting process forced the Basketball Hall of Fame to postpone announcing this year's inductees Monday.

Kimberley Lee, a hall spokeswoman, said the voting will be completed and names announced late this week. The exact date remained undecided.

An inductee must receive 18 of 24 voters on the Honors Committee, which includes hall of famers, basketball officials, journalists and others.

The nominees announced earlier this month are Kevin McHale, John Thompson, Maurice Cheeks, Gus Johnson, Dennis Johnson, Jo Jo White, Robert McAdoo, Sidney Moncrief, Chet Walker, Jim Phelan, Tex Winter, Morgan Wootten, Wayne Embry, Grady Lewis, Fred Zollner, Drazen Petrovic, Pereira Maciel Ubiratan, Billie Moore and Harley Redin.