The AP World Cup Digest at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). The supervisor of the World Cup desk in Rio de Janeiro is Simon Haydon. The desk can be reached at 0055 21 348 264 84.

TOP STORIES:

WCUP-ARGENTINA-SWITZERLAND

SAO PAULO — Argentina, led by a Lionel Messi in splendid goal-scoring form, and Switzerland fight for a spot in the World Cup quarterfinals. By Karl Ritter. UPCOMING: 700 words by 3 p.m. EDT/1900 GMT.

WCUP-BELGIUM-US

SALVADOR, Brazil — The United States takes on Belgium in what is expected to be a fierce physical battle for a place in the World Cup quarterfinals. By Raf Casert. 800 words. By 7 p.m. EDT/2300GMT.

WCUP-CAMEROON-MATCH-FIXING

RIO DE JANEIRO — Cameroon's football federation said it will investigate allegations of match-fixing by its team at the World Cup and the possible existence of "seven bad apples" in the squad. Fecafoot said in a statement late Monday it had instructed its own ethics committee to open an investigation, although it added it had not yet been contacted by FIFA, the sport's global governing body. DEVELOPING.

NEW/DEVELOPING:

SOC--WCUP-ROUNDUP

RIO DE JANEIRO — Lionel Messi's Argentina hopes to avoid the upsets that have sent home other big teams when it plays Switzerland, and the United States battles Belgium for the last quarterfinal place in the late match. By John Leicester. UPCOMING: 300 words by 4 p.m. EDT/2000 GMT then 800 words by 8 p.m. EDT/0000 GMT.

WCUP-US

SALVADOR, Brazil — They know the eyes of the United States will be on them from thousands of miles away, and they say they are ready. The Americans try to reach the World Cup quarterfinals for the first time since 2002 when they play Belgium on Tuesday. By Ronald Blum. SENT. 800 words.

WCUP-BRAZIL

TERESOPOLIS, Brazil — Brazil's starters practice for the first time after the win over Chile and coach Luiz Felipe Scolari begins preparing his squad for the match against Colombia in the World Cup quarterfinals. The coach's first task is to decide on a replacement for defensive midfielder Luiz Gustavo, who is suspended on yellow cards. By Tales Azzoni. UPCOMING: 400 words, photos by 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT.

WCUP FAN CHANTS

SAO PAULO — With "I believe that we will win!" American soccer fans finally have a World Cup chant that doesn't just involve shouting their country's name. In terms of creativity, though, it's a notch below Argentina's elaborate sing-alongs or even the boisterous chants of the English. By Karl Ritter. SENT. 800 words.

WCUP-KOREAN FAN ANGER

SEOUL, South Korea — Disappointed South Korean fans have expressed their anger toward the national team as it made its return home following an early exit from the World Cup in Brazil. Local media showed clips of a fan throwing Korean traditional taffy candy, known as 'yeot,' at the players who had lined up for a team photo at the international airport in Incheon on Monday. The thrower was heard as shouting "eat yeot"; a common curse in South Korea. SENT. 200 words.

WCUP-US-WATCHING WONDOLOWSKI

CARNEGIE, Oklahoma — Chris Wondolowski, the son of a Native American mother, has emerged as a football star over the past few years and made Oklahoma's tightly knit group of 12,000 Kiowa people care about a sport that never mattered to them before. So the chatter at the Kiowa Tribal Complex was a bit unusual Monday afternoon. By Cliff Brunt. SENT. 700 words.

WCUP-DUTCH STRENGTH

RIO DE JANEIRO — No one can argue that the Netherlands coach, Louis Van Gaal, isn't earning his salary. The Dutch are have recovered from 1-0 down to win three times in Brazil, and four of the seven goals the Oranje have scored over the past three games have come from Van Gaal's second-half substitutes. By Luke Norman. SENT. 500 words.

ALSO:

— RIO DE JANEIRO — WCUP-WHAT TO WATCH. By Trevor Huggins. SENT.

— RIO DE JANEIRO — WCUP-BRAZIL BEAT. UPCOMING.

— RIO DE JANEIRO — WORLD CUP GLANCE. SENT

— UNDATED — WCUP-ON THIS DAY. SENT.