%mlink(STRY:; PHOTO:; AUDIO:%)

NEW YORK (AP) _ The original author of the Nancy Drew mystery series and the writer of the screenplay for ``Traffic'' were among those honored with Edgar Allan Poe awards from the Mystery Writers of America.

Mildred Wirt Benson, who was the first to write Nancy Drew mysteries under the name Carolyn Keene, was honored with a special Edgar award. Stephen Gaghan won the Edgar for best mystery motion picture.

The Edgars, which were presented Thursday night, are considered among the top honors in mystery writing. The MWA, founded in New York in 1945, has some 2,300 members nationwide.


On the Net:

Mystery Writers of America Web site: http://www.mysterywriters.org