HARARE, Zimbabwe (AP) — Zimbabwe won the toss and chose to bat first in the one-off test against top-ranked South Africa on Saturday.

Zimbabwe gave debuts to two players at Harare Sports Club: spin bowler John Nyumbu and seamer Donald Tiripano. Batsman Mark Vermeulen was recalled in a test for the host for the first time in 10 years.

South Africa made one change following its series win in Sri Lanka last month to reclaim the No. 1 ranking in the format from Australia. Offspinner Dane Piedt was given his debut ahead of legspinner Imran Tahir, with South Africa picking a full-strength side under new captain Hashim Amla. South Africa's pace bowling trio of Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Morne Morkel all play.

It's the first time South Africa has faced its neighbor in a test in nearly a decade. It's also Zimbabwe's first test against anyone in a year.



Zimbabwe: Brendan Taylor (captain), Vusi Sibanda, Hamilton Masakadza, Mark Vermeulen, Sean Williams, Regis Chakabva, Richmond Mutumbami, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, John Nyumbu, Donald Tiripano.

South Africa: Hashim Amla (captain), Dean Elgar, Alviro Petersen, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Dane Piedt.