Pennsylvania sees increase in distracted-driving citations
Apr. 02, 2018
HARRISBURG, Pa. (AP) — Court officials say distracted driving citations in Pennsylvania jumped by 52 percent last year and have increased 172 percent since 2013.
Nearly seven in 10 citations were issued to men, and more than a third were to people in their 20s.
State law prohibits texting while driving, subjecting violators to a fine of $50. It's also illegal to drive while wearing headphones.
The court system says the most likely time for police to catch distracted-driving scofflaws is between 8 a.m. and noon.
A 2012 state law lets police pull over motorists they suspect of texting while driving.