MUMBAI, India (AP) — India named three uncapped players Tuesday in a 17-man squad for the limited overs leg of its ongoing tour of England.

Pace bowler Dhawal Kulkarni, wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson and leg-spinner Karn Sharma were picked for a series of five one-day internationals and one Twenty20 game to be played from Aug. 25 to Sept. 7.

While Samson and Karn were picked for an India side for the first time, Kulkarni was part of the test squad for a tour of New Zealand in 2009 but did not get to play.

Karn was picked ahead of other contenders like Piyush Chawla and Rahul Sharma after first-choice leg-spinner Amit Mishra was ruled out by a back injury.

The team led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni does not include experienced players like Gautam Gambhir, Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag as the selectors went for youth with an eye on next year's World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.


The squad:

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Sanju Samson, Ravichandran Ashwin, Karn Sharma, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Dhawal Kulkarni.