MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — New Australian citizen Fawad Ahmed has been selected as the lead spinner in an 18-man squad for Australia's one-day and Twenty20 series in England and Scotland.

Ahmed was granted Australian citizenship in July. He played 10 first-class matches in Pakistan before arriving in Australia in 2010 seeking asylum.

"Fawad has been a consistent wicket-taker on the Australia A tour of Zimbabwe and South Africa," national selector John Inverarity said Thursday.

"He is a mature and very good leg-spin bowler and the national selection panel is keen to see how he fares in international competition."

Michael Clarke will be skipper of the ODI squad and George Bailey the vice-captain.

Shane Watson and Steve Smith join Clarke as the only players from the test side that lost the fourth Ashes match to be included in the ODI squad.

The first of two Twenty20s will be on Aug. 29 in Southampton and the first one-dayer on Sept. 3 against Scotland in Edinburgh, followed by five against England. The squad will be reduced after the Twenty20 matches.


Australia's ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), George Bailey (vice-captain), Fawad Ahmed, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazelwood, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Voges, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Shane Watson.