Jan. 26, 1986

At New Orleans_73,818

Chicago 13.10.21..2_46

New England .3..0..0..7_10

The Monsters of the Midway in all their overpowering glory.

And with some brashness: several players made a music video, the "Super Bowl Shuffle," before heading to New Orleans.

The Chicago Bears won their first NFL championship since 1963 by setting a Super Bowl record for points scored in defeating the Patriots 46-10. The NFC champions, who won by the largest margin in Super Bowl history, broke the mark for points in a game set by San Francisco and the Los Angeles Raiders in the previous two Super Bowls.

New England capitalized on a Chicago fumble to score the quickest points in Super Bowl history on Tony Franklin's field goal 74 seconds after kickoff. That just made the Bears mad, and they scored 44 straight points.

The Bears' defense, which allowed only 10 points in postseason play, held New England to 7 yards rushing and 116 yards passing.

Jim McMahon, who passed for 256 yards, became the first quarterback to rush for two touchdowns. Richard Dent, who contributed 1 1/2 sacks, was voted the Most Valuable Player.

Chicago all-time great running back Walter Payton didn't score, but defensive tackle William "Refrigerator" Perry had a 1-yard TD run.



AP NFL website: and