OAKLAND, Calif. (AP) _ Adam Piatt, a third baseman in the Oakland Athletics farm system, won Topps' minor league baseball player of the year award on Friday.

Piatt played most of last season for Midland in the Double-A Texas League. He won the league's first triple crown in 72 years with a .345 batting average, 39 home runs and 135 RBI.

Piatt was promoted to Vancouver at the end of the season and helped the Canadians to the Triple-A championship.

It's the second straight year an Oakland minor leaguer has won the honor. Eric Chavez, also a third baseman, won in 1998.

Previous winners include Andruw Jones of the Atlanta Braves in 1996 and Derek Jeter of the New York Yankees in 1994.