WASHINGTON (AP) _ The Federal Election Commission on Thursday selected Republican member Thomas Josefiak as its chairman for the coming year and Democrat Danny McDonald as vice chairman.

The six-member commission rotates the chairmanship between the political parties, with chairman and vice chairman from different parties.

Josefiak succeeds Democrat Scott Thomas.

Josefiak was appointed to the commission by President Reagan in 1985 after serving as special deputy to the secretary of the Senate, an ex-officio member of the FEC.

An attorney, Josefiak previously was legal counsel to the National Republican Congressional Committee, and worked as special counsel for the House Administration Committee and legislative aide to Rep. Silvio Conte, R- Mass.

McDonald joined the commission in 1982 and served as chairman in 1983. He was previously the general administrator of the Oklahoma Corporation Commission, and had worked also as secretary to the Tulsa County Election Board.

The FEC was established by congressional mandate in 1974 with passage of the Federal Election Campaign Act. Its six members oversee enforcement of federal election law, which governs the fund raising, expenditures and financial disclosures of congressional and presidential campaigns.

The members, with three from each party, are appointed to six-year staggered terms by the president, with confirmation by the Senate.