The AP World Cup Digest at 10 a.m. EDT (1400 GMT). The supervisor of the World Cup desk in Rio de Janeiro is Simon Haydon. The desk can be reached at 0055 21 348 264 84.

TOP STORIES:

WCUP-BRAZIL-CHILE

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil — Brazil has never lost to Chile on home soil but needs to keep its nerves in check to avoid an upset by the Chileans, who have already kicked out defending champion Spain of the World Cup. By Karl Ritter. UPCOMING: 600 words by 2.30 p.m. EDT/1830 GMT.

WCUP-COLOMBIA-URUGUAY

RIO DE JANEIRO —Uruguay must put aside any lingering anger over the ban handed to star striker Luis Suarez when it takes on Colombia at the Maracana for a spot in the quarterfinals. Uruguay reached the semis in 2010 but Colombia is arguably the favorite after an impressive group-stage campaign — especially given the absence of Suarez. By Mattias Karen. UPCOMING. 700 words by 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT.

WCUP-SUAREZ

RIO DE JANEIRO — Luis Suarez told FIFA's disciplinary panel that he did not deliberately bite Italy defender Giorgio Chiellini at the World Cup. "In no way it happened how you have described, as a bite or intent to bite," the Uruguay striker wrote in Spanish in a letter dated June 25. By Graham Dunbar. SENT. 400 words.

NEW/DEVELOPING:

WCUP-FRANCE-NIGERIA

RIBEIRAO PRETO, Brazil — The pace and power of Nigeria's attack will give France's defense its biggest test of the World Cup so far when they meet in Monday's round of 16 match. Although France kept two clean sheets in the group stage — against Honduras and Ecuador — the variety in the African champion's forward line offers a much stiffer proposition, and it has already caused problems for bigger teams than France. By Jerome Pugmire.

WCUP-GERMANY-ALGERIA

MANGARATIBA, Brazil — Thirty-two years is a long time to wait for revenge. It was way back in 1982 when Germany and Austria played out what went down in the history books as the "Disgrace of Gijon" to eliminate Algeria from the World Cup. By Andrew Dampf.

WCUP-JOHN LEICESTER-280614

BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil — Sports columnist John Leicester writes from the knockout games between World Cup host Brazil and Chile. By Sports Columnist John Leicester. UPCOMING: 800 words. By 6 p.m. EDT/2200 GMT.

SOC--WCUP-US-BEASLEY'S FOURTH

SAO PAULO — DaMarcus Beasley is experiencing his latest World Cup with little fanfare, determined to keep his entire focus on the field and far from the fact he is the first American to appear in four World Cups and a big reason the U.S. is headed to the knockout rounds again. By Janie McCauley. UPCOMING: 700 words, photos by 7 p.m. EDT.

WCUP-GERMANY-REGIONAL TIES

NOVO HAMBURGO, Brazil — Germany's World Cup team has a deep well of support in the rolling hills of southern Brazil, home to of one of the largest communities of German descendants in the world. Until the semifinals, that is. Then, assuming each team keeps winning, Brazil meets Germany — and the Muellers, Hoffmans and Schmidts of these parts will quickly forget the land of their ancestors. By Chris Brummitt. With AP photos, video. By 7 p.m. EDT/2300 GMT.

WCUP-GREECE

RECIFE, Brazil — Having squeezed through to the last 16 via an injury-time penalty, Greece trains and speaks to the media ahead of the World Cup second-round game against Costa Rica. By Gerald Imray. UPCOMING: 400 words. Starts 5.30 p.m. EDT / 2130 GMT.

SOC--WCUP-COSTA RICA

RECIFE, Brazil — World Cup surprise package Costa Rica trains and speaks to the media ahead of its second-round game against Greece. By Brett Martell. UPCOMING: 400 words. By 4:30 p.m./2030 GMT.

SOC--WCUP-GERMANY

PORTO SEGURO — Germany coach Joachim Loew holds a news conference ahead of the second-round match against Algeria. By Nesha Starcevic. By 2 p.m. EDT/1800 GMT.

SOC--WCUP-NETHERLANDS

FORTALEZA, Brazil — Netherlands coach Louis van Gaal and injured midfielder Leroy Fer give a news conference. By Mike Corder. By 5 p.m. EDT/2100 GMT.

ALSO:

— RIO DE JANEIRO — WCUP-WHAT TO WATCH. SENT. By Trevor Huggins.

— RIO DE JANEIRO — WCUP-BRAZIL BEAT. UPCOMING.

— UNDATED — WORLD CUP GLANCE. SENT.

— UNDATED — WCUP-ON THIS DAY. SENT.