FUJIMI, Japan (AP) _ Sweden's Mikael Berg beat Ewald Zirbisegger of Austria in the final Sunday and won the $30,800 Yanase-Pisten Cup slalom race, fourth of 10 duel slalom ski races on Japan's professional circuit.

Zirbisegger won the first race in 36.767 seconds, beating Berg by 0.51 seconds, but fell in the second race on a 360-meter (1,188-foot) course at Fujimi Panorama Ski in Nagano.

Berg finished the first race in 37.277 seconds and the second in 37.048.

Berg received first prize of $7,700. He also won 35 points for the victory, lifting him to the top of the circuit standings with 135 points.

Zirbisegger pocketed $3,500 for second place. He picked up 30 points and was second behind Berg overall with a total of 125.

France's Marc Garcia defeated Jan Erik Johnsson of Sweden and received $2,700 for third place. Johnsson won $1,500 for fourth.


SINGAPORE (AP) - Taiwan, France and Canada won their regional tournaments Sunday, advancing to the finals of the Dunhill Cup world golf tournament.

Each also won $30,000 for their victories, by identical 2-1 scores. Taiwan upset top-seeded New Zealand in the Asia-Pacific zone, Canada beat Argentina for the American zone title and France stunned Sweden for the European zone's qualifying spot in the Sept. 26-Oct. 1 finals at St. Andrews, Scotland.

In the finals in Scotland, the winners here will join teams from Ireland, Scotland, England, Wales, Australia, Spain, the United States and Japan, all selected because of their performance last year.

In a four-team preliminary competition in Scotland to select two more teams for the finals, Colombia will play African zone winner Zimbabwe and South Korea will face Italy.


SAPPORO, Japan (AP) - Switzerland's Konard Hallenbarter edged Japan's Taniyuki Yuki by one meter Sunday and won the men's 50-kilometer (31-mile) race in the 9th annual Sapporo International Ski Marathon.

The 35-year-old Hallenbarter, winner of the 1986 world ski marathon championships and the 1986 Sapporo marathon, caught the 28-year-old Yuki about 550 yards before the goal on his way to victory in 2 hours, 27 minutes, 26.1 seconds.

Yuki, the 1988 Japan 30-kilometer (19-mile) champion, and Vesala Teemu of Finland led most of the way, and Yuki took the sole lead after 26.4 miles. He finished second in 2:27:26.7.

Markus Faehndrich of Switzerland was third in 2:27:59.6 and Kazuyoshi Kawanobe of Japan was fourth in 2:28:00.9. Teemu finished fifth in 2:28:55.6.

In the women's 50-kilometer race, Yoshiko Mikami of Japan, 22, won in 2:54:32.9, followed by Mika Ito of Japan in 2:59:08.3 and Suzanne King of the United States in 3:09:21.3.