WASHINGTON (AP) _ Commerce Secretary C. William Verity on Wednesday appointed a special advisory committee to examine the impact of advanced television technologies on future U.S. competitiveness in the TV industry.

The panel, to hold its first meeting Thursday, will study how best to aid U.S. TV equipment manufacturers and related industries that will be affected by the developing technology that will bring the next generation of TV.

The committee also will recommend policies to encourage development of advanced TV and study what communications, trade and other commercial interests may be affected.

Japan is leading in the development of high-definition TV, which will deliver sharper, more brilliant images on TV sets with a wider screen and superior sound quality. Europeans also have been working on their own system.

There has been concern in Congress, the administration and the industry that America's electronics industry could suffer irreparably if it is left behind in the development of advanced TV.

The technologies being used in advanced TV are expected to have ripple effects in other industries because the new TV products will use a large supply of advanced semiconductors and the technologies will have applications in military and medical fields.

''Anticipated ATV (advanced television) products will use up to 50 times more memory than today's television set,'' Verity said. ''As the computer and television converge, it is important for the government to better understand the implications facing U.S. industry.''

Public policy issues related to implementation of advanced TV in the United States are being studied by a Federal Communications Commission panel.

The Commerce panel is to make its first report Jan. 4, 1989.

The committee will be headed by the Commerce secretary and include 10 members of the private sector and four ex officio members from the government.

Eight of the private sector members have been named: Jerry K. Pearlman, Zenith Electronics Corp.; James Dowdle, Tribune Broadcasting Co.; Robert Galvin, Motorola Inc.; William Miller, SRI International; Arthur Barron, Gulf & Western Inc.; John Roach, Tandy Corp.; Thomas Woodward, McKinsey & Co.; and William Schrieber, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The other two private sector members are to be announced later.

The ex officio members are Richard Wiley, chairman of the FCC Advisory Committee on Advanced Television; Eric Bloch of the National Science Foundation; and William Graham Jr. of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. The fourth ex officio member is to be announced later.