SEATTLE (AP) _ The 16-team Pacific West Conference is breaking up.

At a PacWest executive council meeting Monday, officials approved the withdrawal of 10 of its 16 members.

Central Washington University, Western Washington University, Seattle Pacific University, Seattle University and St. Martin's College (Wash.) will form a separate conference July 1, 2001, with five other departing PacWest schools.

Also leaving the PacWest are the University of Alaska Anchorage, the University of Alaska Fairbanks, Western Oregon University, Northwest Nazarene University (Idaho) and Humboldt University (Calif.).

Montana State University-Billings, Western New Mexico University, Brigham Young University-Hawaii, Hawaii Pacific University, the University of Hawaii Hilo and Chaminade University (Hawaii) will continue as members of the conference.

The PacWest, formed in 1981, is primarily a basketball conference made up of NCAA Division II schools.