HARARE, Zimbabwe (AP) — South Africa won the toss and put Australia in to bat in Wednesday's second game of the triangular one-day series in Zimbabwe.

Australia brought in batsman Phil Hughes in its only change from a 198-run win over Zimbabwe in the opening game of the tournament at Harare Sports Club. Hughes, who has been in blistering form for Australia's 'A' team, replaced offspin bowler Nathan Lyon.

Captain Michael Clarke was still missing for Australia with a hamstring injury and George Bailey will again lead the side.

South Africa recalled a string of first-choice players after they were rested during a 3-0 series win over Zimbabwe in their bilateral contest before the triangular.

Captain A.B. de Villiers and fellow batsman Hashim Amla returned after sitting out the final game in the sweep over Zimbabwe. Fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel were back in the lineup after getting a rest for the entire Zimbabwe series.

Just four points separate top-ranked Australia and No. 3 South Africa in the one-day rankings and the three-team series will decide if Australia stays at No. 1.



Australia: George Bailey (captain), Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson.

South Africa: A.B. de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, J.P. Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.