Related topics

India wins toss, bowls in 1st ODI vs. New Zealand

January 19, 2014

NAPIER, New Zealand (AP) — India captain MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bowl Sunday in the first one-day cricket international against new Zealand at McLean Park.

Dhoni described the five-match one-day series against New Zealand as an important preparation for next year’s World Cup which will be co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia.

He said “every series that we play is important for us, it doesn’t matter who we play or where we play. But it will be good exposure for a few of the guys who have not played in New Zealand. I think it’s a fantastic preparation just ahead of the World Cup.”

New Zealand selected a strong pace attack, naming the young speedster Adam Milne alongside Mitchell McClenaghan and Tim Southee.

“We would have batted anyway so we’re pretty happy with the toss,” captain Brendon McCullum said. “We’ve obviously got four pretty good bowling options in our ranks. The conditions will suit and we think with the faster, bouncier wicket here Adam Milne is a good match.”

New Zealand shared its recent five-match one-day series against the West Indies 2-2, with one match abandoned, and won the Twenty20 series 2-0.

“We played some good cricket during the West Indies tour and obviously missed a couple of opportunities as well,” McCullum said. “India presents a completely different challenge and is obviously a very strong team.

“But playing in our own conditions we’re confident that if we continue to perform well and develop some consistency we’re going to give ourselves a good chance.”


New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Jesse Ryder, Kane Williamson, Brendon McCullum (captain), Ross Taylor, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dohni (captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma.

Umpires: Rod Tucker, Australia, and Derek Walker, New Zealand.

Television umpire: Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand. Match referee: David Boon, Australia.

Update hourly