Related topics

Ralph Kiner, Dick Enberg among 10 Frick finalists

October 3, 2014

COOPERSTOWN, N.Y. (AP) — Former slugger Ralph Kiner and longtime announcer Dick Enberg are among the 10 finalists for the 2015 Ford C. Frick Award presented by the Hall of Fame for excellence in baseball broadcasting.

The Hall announced the finalists Friday. The winner will be announced Dec. 10 during the winter meetings.

Kiner was elected to the Hall in 1975 after leading or tying for the league home run lead in seven of his 10 seasons. He spent more than 50 seasons as an announcer, mostly with the New York Mets.

Enberg broadcast games for the Angels and Padres for 16 seasons. He’s been a sports announcer for more than 50 years.

A 20-person panel that includes the 16 living Frick Award winners will choose this year’s recipient.

Also on the ballot are: Richie Ashburn, Billy Berroa, Rene Cardenas, Dizzy Dean, Ernie Johnson Sr., Ned Martin, Joe Nuxhall and Jack Quinlan.

Update hourly