Related topics

Oklahoma’s Heupel, Stoops Honored

November 28, 2000

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (AP) _ Oklahoma’s Josh Heupel and Bob Stoops won the Walter Camp player and coach of the year awards Tuesday.

Heupel, quarterback for the No. 1 Sooners, led the team to an 11-0 record. In only his second year, Stoops took Oklahoma to the top of the national rankings for the first time since 1987.

It marked only the third time a player and coach from the same school were honored in the same year.

The winners of the awards, named for the former Yale coach who helped develop the rules of the game, are picked by a national panel of Division I-A coaches and sports information directors.

Stoops and Heupel will be honored at the Walter Camp 34th national awards banquet on Feb. 10 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Heupel also was honored Tuesday as The Sporting News’ player of the year. The St. Louis-based magazine selected Oregon State’s Dennis Erickson as the coach of the year, and Florida receiver Jabar Gaffney as the freshman of the year.

Update hourly