Ex-Herd star Kane collects share of hoops tourney’s $2 million prize

August 5, 2018

HUNTINGTON - Dre Kane, a Marshall University basketball star from 2010-13, was once again part of the championship team in The Basketball Tournament.

Kane, now playing professionally for Maccabi Tel Aviv in Israel, was with the winning team for the third consecutive year. Overseas Elite defeated Eberlein Drive 70-58 in Friday’s final at Morgan State University in Baltimore. The $2 million winner-take-all, single-elimination tournament began with 72 teams including the West Virginia Wildcats, a squad with some former Marshall players that went out in the first round.

Overseas Elite’s dynasty has claimed all four titles in The Basketball Tournament and sports a 25-0 record in the event, including its six-victory run this year.

Tournament teams are put together nationwide with many former NCAA and NBA players.

The winning team splits 90 percent of the prize among its general manager, players, boosters and coaches. Another 10 percent goes to the winning team’s top 201 fans determined by online participation.

Justin Burrell (St. John’s University) led Overseas Elite in the championship game with 15 points. Tournament Most Valuable Player D.J. Kennedy (St. John’s University) and Errick McCollum (Goshen College) both scored 14, the website www.thetournament.com reported. Kane added three points, five rebounds and one assist.

“People don’t give us the respect that we deserve because it’s not the NBA or even the EuroLeague,” McCollum said. “But this is open competition - the best players in the world outside the NBA. Everyone knows who we are, and they’re stacking up to beat us. ... We just come out and do our job ... and we’ll leave it for all of you to debate.

“It’s got to be something that’s historic and something that will never be repeated again.”

Kennedy was the force that consistently drove Overseas Elite through its six-game run to the TBT title. Kennedy scored in double figures in all six wins, averaging 14.3 points and 9.0 rebounds per game.

Kane, who finished his college career at Iowa State University, and Kennedy, now playing in Turkey, are Pittsburgh natives who were teammates at the former Schenley High School, the PIAA champion in 2007. Jerome Randle, a former Pac-10 Player of the Year at the University of California, and Donald Sloan (Texas A&M) tallied 14 points apiece in the losing effort for Eberlein Drive.

Jimmer Fredette, the 2011 Naismith Award winner while playing for BYU, led the tournament with a 31.0 scoring average. Team Fredette advanced into the semifinals.

Update hourly