Related topics

Quintana and Rodriguez lead Giro entry list

April 22, 2014

MILAN (AP) — Tour de France runner-up Nairo Quintana and Spanish rider Joaquin Rodriguez headline the entry list for the Giro d’Italia next month.

Former Tour winner Cadel Evans, Colombian rider Rigoberto Uran and Irish cousins Nicholas Roche and Daniel Martin could also contend in the May 9-June 1 race.

Also in the running for the pink jersey will be former champions Michele Scarponi (2011), Ivan Basso (2006 and 2010), Damiano Cunego (2004) and Ryder Hesjedal (2012).

Fabio Aru, slated to support Scarponi on the Astana squad but a rising star, could also be a factor in the 198-man field of 22 teams with nine riders each. He was 20th in the Volta a Catalunya last month.

The entries announced on Tuesday by organizer RCS Sport did not include defending champion Vincezo Nibali, who is focusing on the Tour this year.

Tour champion Chris Froome and 2008 Giro winner Alberto Contador are also not entered.

With Mark Cavendish also preferring to focus on the Tour, the sprints should be decided between Marcel Kittel of Germany, Nacer Bouhanni of France, Michael Matthews of Australia, Ben Swift of Britain, Tyler Farrar of the United States and Italians Alessandro Petacchi, Elia Viviani, Giacomo Nizzolo, Davide Appollonio and Francesco Chicchi.

Other stage contenders could include: Samuel Sanchez, Edvald Boasson Hagen, Pierre Rolland, Igor Anton, Thomas De Gendt, Diego Ulissi, Moreno Moser and Domenico Pozzovivo.

The race begins with three stages in Northern Ireland and Ireland, and ends in Trieste.

Update hourly