Auto racing: Sanders wins Jamboree, Scott wins USMTS title

September 24, 2018

SPRING VALLEY — Rodney Sanders didn’t capture the United States Modified Touring Series national championship this year, but the veteran driver from Worthington added another big-money victory to his resume on Saturday.

Sanders, a multiple-time USMTS national champion, beat a star-studded field of drivers to the checkered flag on Saturday night at Deer Creek Speedway to win the USMTS Fall Jamboree for the second time in his career and the second time in the past five years.

Sanders beat Rochester’s Brad Waits to the finish line by less than three-tenths of a second. Sanders earned $10,000 for the win.

Stormy Scott of Las Cruces, N.M., finished third, followed by his brother and reigning USMTS national champion Johnny Scott in fourth. Two other Rochester drivers cracked the top 10 — Dustin Sorensen in eighth place and Nate Wasmund in 10th.

After Thursday’s Jamboree program was washed out by rain, Johnny Scott won Friday’s Jamboree A Main. He started sixth in the 32-car field, but took over the lead just four laps into the race and held on through four cautions to win $6,200.

Scott had already clinched the USMTS national championship coming into the weekend.


A Main (top 10) — 1. Rodney Sanders, 2. Brad Waits, 3. Stormy Scott, 4. Johnny Scott, 5. Zack VanderBeek, 6. RC Whitwell, 7. Brandon Davis, 8. Dustin Sorensen, 9. Travis Saurer, 10. Nate Wasmund.

B Main winners — Steve Wetzstein, VanderBeek, Saurer, Keith Foss.

Heat winners — Waits, Jake O’Neil, S. Scott, Terry Phillips, J. Scott, Ryan Gustin, Bobby Malchus.

Update hourly