Related topics

Fraser, Latimer Re-elected in Twin Cities

November 6, 1985

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) _ Democratic Mayors Donald Fraser of Minneapolis and George Latimer of St. Paul easily won re-election over little-known challengers in Tuesday’s elections.

With all precincts counted, Fraser defeated Independent-Republican Roger W. ″Jens″ Jenson, 43,217 to 9,597.

Latimer, who already has served a record five terms, coasted to a sixth term by defeating retired home builder George Ostrand, a self-described independent conservative.

With all precincts counted, Latimer led Ostrand, 37,728 to 7,008.

Both Fraser and Jenson survived primary contests against seven other opponents when only 9.2 percent of eligible voters in Minneapolis turned out.

Fraser, 61, who served 16 years in the U.S. House of Representatives before making an unsuccessful run for the U.S. Senate in 1978, has served one two- year term and one four-year term as mayor of Minnesota’s largest city.

St. Paul voters last year extended the mayor’s term from two years to four years, effective this election. Ostrand, 75, a retired home builder, was the only announced opposition to the 50-year-old Latimer.

Update hourly