Democrats, Republicans pick new statehouse leaders

November 9, 2018

AUGUSTA, Maine (AP) — Maine lawmakers have decided on their new legislative leaders as Democrats gain control over the state Legislature.

The Senate Democratic caucus voted Sen. Troy Jackson as Senate president on Thursday. Sen. Nate Libby will serve as Senate majority leader and Sen. Eloise Vitelli as assistant majority leader.

An official vote will be taken by the entire Senate on Dec. 5, swearing-in day.

Senate Republicans selected Sen. Dana Dow as minority leader and senator-elect Jeff Timberlake as assistant leader.

Republicans previously controlled the Senate 18-17 while Democrats led the House 73-70.

The Associated Press’s unofficial results from Tuesday’s election show Democrats flipped the Senate and have a 21-14 majority.

This year, Democrats gained 16 seats overall in the House for an 89-57 majority.

Update hourly