boys swc swimming championship Panthers take seventh straight crown

March 2, 2019

Depth is significant in team swimming, especially when the all-important championship meets take place.

Well-represented in each event, Pomperaug has plenty of depth and as a result, has plenty of titles to go along with it.

And the title collection continued for the Panthers.

Behind several first-place finishes and numerous top-five efforts, Pomperaug placed first at the SWC boys swimming championships for the seventh straight season before a packed house at Masuk High School. The victory also marked the 12th time in 13 years Pomperaug swam away with the conference championship.

Pomperaug amassed 533 team points and Masuk was second in the team standings with 369 points. Brookfield and Barlow-Bethel tied for third place with 298 points. Newtown had a team score of 297.

The meet began with Newtown winning the 200-yard medley relay in 1:42.46. Masuk placed second by a blink of an eye in 1:42.66, followed by New Fairfield, which was also in the running for the title (1:42.74).

In the 200-yard freestyle, senior William Regan of Pomperaug opened a lead in the second lap and proceeded to win the event in a time of 1:42.77, giving his squad 22 first-place points. Tim Joyce of Joel Barlow/Bethel posted a second-place finish in 1:44.59, while Masuk’s Joey Nizzardo took third in 1:48.37.

Senior Colin Mackellar of Pomperaug almost set a meet record in winning the 200-yard individual medley. Mackellar touched the wall in 1:55.93. Andrew Yu (Barlow/Bethel) was second in 2:03.14 and Brookfield’s Thomas Foster finished third (2:05.90).

In the nine-heat 50 freestyle, Newtown’s Colby Delia, a senior, took top honors, clocking in at 22.02 seconds in the 50 freestyle. Masuk’s Matthew Hull earned the second-place medal in 22.20, while Paul Riter from New Fairfield finished third in 22.75.

The 100-yard butterfly was a close race from the start. Newtown’s Mason Scuba, a junior, garnered the first-place medal with a winning time of 54.30, followed by Michael Aiello from Masuk (54.74) and Weston’s Oscar Petersen (54.88).

Delia captured his second first-place medal of the night for Newtown, topping the competition in the 100 freestyle in 49.37 seconds. Andrew Kulp (New Fairfield) was a blink of an eye behind in the meet’s closest finish (48.38) and William Briand from host Masuk was third in 49.77. Joyce, a senior (Barlow/Bethel) repeated as champion in the 500 freestyle, posting a time of 4:39.32. Nizzardo of Masuk was second, followed by Mackellar from Pomperaug.

After the 500 freestyle, Pomperaug had 345 team points, while Masuk had 234 and Newtown had 217.

In the 200 freestyle, Newtown combined for a winning time of 1:28.38, topping its first-place finish of 1:31.17 from last season. Pomperaug was second in 1:30.06.

Senior Andrew Kulp of New Fairfield earned the first-place medal in the 100 backstroke in 54.55. Brand gave Masuk a second-place finish in 57.38, followed by Timothy Regan.

William Regan gave Pomeraug a meet-record performance in winning the 100 breaststroke in 57.09 seconds. Yu of Barlow- Bethel was the runner-up in 1:00.67.

The meet ended in fitting fashion for Pomperaug, which registered a winning time of 3:20.45 in the 400 freestyle relay.