Related topics

List of AL Cy Young Award Winners

November 16, 1999

Winners of the American League Cy Young Award as the outstanding pitcher:

1958_Bob Turley, New York

1959_Early Wynn, Chicago

1961_Whitey Ford, New York

1964_Dean Chance, Los Angeles

1967_Jim Lonborg, Boston

1968_Denny McLain, Detroit

1969_(tie) Mike Cuellar, Baltimore, and Denny McLain, Detroit

1970_Jim Perry, Minnesota

1971_Vida Blue, Oakland

1972_Gaylord Perry, Cleveland

1973_Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1974_Catfish Hunter, Oakland

1975_Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1976_Jim Palmer, Baltimore

1977_Sparky Lyle, New York

1978_Ron Guidry, New York

1979_Mike Flanagan, Baltimore

1980_Steve Stone, Baltimore

1981_Rollie Fingers, Milwaukee

1982_Pete Vuckovich, Milwaukee

1983_LaMarr Hoyt, Chicago

1984_Willie Hernandez, Detroit

1985_Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City

1986_Roger Clemens, Boston

1987_Roger Clemens, Boston

1988_Frank Viola, Minnesota

1989_Bret Saberhagen, Kansas City

1990_Bob Welch, Oakland

1991_Roger Clemens, Boston

1992_Dennis Eckersley, Oakland

1993_Jack McDowell, Chicago

1994_David Cone, Kansas City

1995_Randy Johnson, Seattle

1996_Pat Hentgen, Toronto

1997_Roger Clemens, Toronto

1998_Roger Clemens, Toronto

1999_Pedro Martinez, Boston


NOTE: From 1956-1966 there was one selection from both leagues.

Update hourly