Related topics

Golf Glance

December 4, 2018



Site: Naples, Fla.

Course: Tiburon GC. Yardage: 7,382. Par: 72.

Purse: $3.4 million. Winner’s share: $422,500 for each player.

Television: Friday, 1:30-4:30 p.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday, 1:30-2:30 p.m. (Golf Channel), 2:30-4:30 p.m. (NBC); Sunday, 1-2 p.m. (Golf Channel), 2-4 p.m. (NBC).

Defending champions: Sean O’Hair and Steve Stricker.

Last week: Jon Rahm won the Hero World Challenge.

Notes: The tournament is for 12 two-player teams competing in a scramble Friday, modified alternate shot Saturday and fourballs Sunday. ... Gary Woodland was supposed to play with Matt Kuchar, his former World Cup partner, until Kuchar decided to stay in the Southern Hemisphere on vacation. Woodland now is playing with Charley Hoffman. ... Kevin Chappell had to withdraw to have a back procedure. He was replaced by Cameron Champ, playing with Kevin Kisner. ... LPGA Tour player Lexi Thompson returns and again plays with Tony Finau. Thompson won at Tiburon three weeks ago in the CME Group Tour Championship. ... Bryson DeChambeau is the only player from the top 10 in the field. He is playing with Kevin Na. ... The tournament began in 1989 as the Shark Shootout. ... Scott McCarron and Brad Faxon, and Jeff Sluman and Hank Kuehne, are the only teams to successfully defend. ... O’Hair and Stricker previous won with other partners. O’Hair won in 2012 with Kenny Perry, while Stricker won in 2009 with Jerry Kelly.

Next tournament: Sentry Tournament of Champions on Jan. 3-6.

Online: www.pgatour.com




Site: Johannesburg.

Course: Randpark GC (Firethorn Course). Yardage: 7,595. Par: 72.

Purse: 17.5 million rand. Winner’s share: $2.9 million rand.

Television: Thursday-Friday, 5-10 a.m. (Golf Channel); Saturday-Sunday, 4:30-9:30 a.m. (Golf Channel).

Defending champion: Chris Paisley.

Last week: Cameron Smith won the Australian PGA and Kurt Kitayama won the Mauritius Open.

Notes: The field features South Africa’s quartet of major champions over the last decade — Ernie Els (2013 British Open), Charl Schwartzel (2011 Masters), Louis Oosthuizen (2010 British Open) and Trevor Immelman (2008 Masters). ... Branden Grace is playing and can secure his position among the top 50 to earn a place in next year’s Masters. ... The South African Open dates to 1903 when it was played as a 36-hole event, making it the third-oldest national championship behind the British Open (1860) and the U.S. Open (1895). ... Gary Player won his national open a record 13 times. ... English players have won the last two editions, Paisley last year and Graeme Storm in 2017. ... The European Tour has co-sanctioned the South African Open since 1997. ... It was last held at Randpark in 2000, won by Mattias Gronberg. ... The European Tour has three events from South Africa on its schedule, one more than England.

Next week: Alfred Dunhill Championship in South Africa.

Online: www.europeantour.com and www.sunshinetour.com




Staysure Tour: MCB Tour Championship-Mauritius, Constance Belle Mare Plage, Poste de Flacq, Mauritius. Defending champion: Thaworn Wiratchant. Online: www.europeantour.com/staysuretour

Update hourly