Nebraska’s Palmer named to Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year list

November 6, 2018

Nebraska guard James Palmer Jr. was one of 50 players on the initial Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year honor released today.

Palmer, who was named to the Jerry West Award watch list for the top shooting guard in college basketball, is one of eight Big Ten players on the Watch list. A returning first-team All-Big Ten selection, Palmer comes off a junior season where he averaged 17.2 points, 4.4 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game in leading the Huskers to a 22-11 record and an NIT berth. He is the first Husker to make the Naismith Trophy Watch List since Terran Petteway in 2014-15. The Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on April 7, 2019, during the Final Four in Minneapolis.

Update hourly