Related topics

Australia wins toss, sends Scotland in to bat in World Cup

March 14, 2015

HOBART, Australia (AP) — Australia captain Michael Clarke won the toss and sent Scotland in to bat in their final Pool A match of the Cricket World Cup at Bellerive Oval on Saturday.

Paceman Pat Cummins replaces spinner Xavier Doherty in the only change to Australia’s starting lineup after selectors opted for an all-seam bowling attack.

Iain Wardlaw returns to the Scotland XI in place of fellow seamer Alasdair Evans in the only change to Preston Mommsen’s side.

Australia has already qualified for the quarterfinals, while Scotland comes into the match on a 13-match losing streak at three winless World Cup tournaments.

The forecast calls for a chance of rain in Hobart later Saturday.



Australia: Aaron Finch, David Warner, Steven Smith, Michael Clarke (captain), Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins.

Scotland: Calum MacLeod, Kyle Coetzer, Matt Machan, Preston Mommsen (captain), Freddie Coleman, Ritchie Berrington, Matt Cross, Josh Davey, Rob Taylor, Michael Leask, Iain Wardlaw.

Umpires: Ian Gould, England, and Richard Illingworth, England.

Third umpire: Joel Wilson, West Indies. Match referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.

Update hourly