Scotts Bluff County issues final vote tallies

November 8, 2018

GERING – When all the ballots were counted, 10,778 of Scotts Bluff County’s 24,390 registered voters went to the polls for about a 44.19 percent turnout.

There will be two new faces on the County Board in January as Charlie Knapper received 1,855 voters to win in District 3. Former Scottsbluff mayor Mark Harris is the new District 5 commissioner with 1,466 votes. Incumbent District 1 Commissioner Mark Reichert won re-election with 1,957 votes.

Only one race was contested among county officials as Republican Kelly Sides defeated Libertarian Kurt Zadina for county clerk, 7,790-2,245.

The remaining incumbent Republican county office holders ran unopposed as County Assessor Amy Ramos received 8,618 votes. Register of Deeds Jean Bauer had 8,883 votes. Another 8,803 went to Darla Simpson, the clerk of the district court. Heather Hauschild received 9,073 votes for another term as county treasurer.

Dennis Sullivan won his first term as county surveyor with 8,658 votes.

In county law enforcement, Sheriff Mark Overman was re-elected with 8,854 votes. County Attorney Dave Eubanks and Public Defender Bernie Straetker were both re-elected with 8,780 votes each.

On the state level, District 48 State Senator John Stinner of Gering won re-election with 8,958 votes from Scotts Bluff County voters.

The North Platte Natural Resources District also elected new board members. In Subdistrict 1, Ryan Reuter defeated Trevor Schneider 4,746 to 3,670. The Subdistrict 2 winner was Mark Westphal, 5,151 winner over David Ostdiek with 4,018. In Subdistrict 3, Gary Darnall was a 5,746-2,885 winner over Skyler Loeffler. Kent Andreas won in Subdistrict 4, 5,092-3,807 over Terry Jessen. The At-large board seat went to Pete Lapaseotes, a 5,130-3,777 winner over Roy Lyles.

In contested school board races, Minatare re-elected Val Gutierrez, Jana Schwartz and Coby Ross.

New Morrill School Board members are Lisa Kaufman, Bill Watson and Dave Sherrod.

Brian Copsey, Mary Winn and Brady Shaul, incumbents on the Gering School Board, all won re-election.

For Scottsbluff School Board, incumbents Ruth Kozal and Mark Lang win re-election, while newcomer Lori Browning won the third seat.

For Scottsbluff City Council, Jordan Colwell, the lone incumbent, did not receive another term. Newcomers joining the council will be Nathan Green, Terry Schaub and Jeanne McKerrigan.

Scottsbluff’s ballot initiative asking for a one-half cent hike in the sales tax to pay for infrastructure projects was defeated 2,114 to 1,412.

There was less uncertainty for Gering City Council as incumbents Dan Smith in Ward 1, Pam O’Neal in Ward 2, Julie Morrison in Ward 3 and Phillip Holliday in Ward 4 was running opposed. So was Mayor Tony Kaufman as they were all re-elected.

Gering voters also approved a renewal of its LB 840 sales tax for economic development by a 1,589 top 957 voter. The plan to guide the spending also passed, 1,722 to 834.

The race for mayor of Mitchell had two candidates and a write-in vying for the position. Current council member Dave Curtis will become the new mayor with 228 votes. Write-in Paul Murrell had 159 votes and incumbent Brian Taylor finished third with 108.

For Mitchell City Council, incumbents Sean Hopkins and Donald Stall were both running unopposed for another term.

In Terrytown, unopposed candidates included Chris Perales for mayor and Tyler Feil for council member in Ward 1.

Terrytown council member in Ward 2 was a contested race as newcomer Mike Minzey defeated incumbent Jerry Green by an 83-57 vote.

More vote totals are also available at starherald.com.

Update hourly